The Largest Countries In Africa

The Largest Countries In Africa

Africa is the world’s second-largest and second most-populous continent, after Asia. At about 30.3 million km² (11.7 million square miles), including adjacent islands, it covers six percent of the Earth’s total surface area and 20.4 percent of its land area. With 1.216 billion people as of 2016, it accounts for about 17 percent of the world’s human population.

The continent is home to 54 countries, including Algeria’s largest country. Africa is also home to some of the world’s smallest countries, such as the Seychelles and Monaco. Despite its size, Africa is incredibly diverse, with various cultures, languages, and religions.


The Largest Countries In Africa


10. Ethiopia

Ethiopia is located in the eastern part of Africa, and it has a population of over 100 million people. It covers an area of 1.1 million square kilometres, making it the tenth-largest country in Africa. Ethiopia has a rich history and culture, and it is a popular tourist destination.


9. South Africa

South Africa is the 9th largest country in Africa, and it is located in the southern part of the continent. South Africa has over 50 million people, and it covers an area of 1,221,037 square kilometres. The country is divided into nine provinces, and its capital city is Pretoria.


8. Mali

Mali is a landlocked country in West Africa. It is the eighth-largest country in Africa and has over 17 million people. The country is home to various ethnic groups, including the Bambara, Fulani, Dogon, and Songhai. Mali is a developing country affected by political instability and conflict.


7. Angola

Angola is the seventh-largest country in Africa, and it’s located on the Atlantic coast. The country is home to various cultures and languages, and its economy is mainly based on oil and diamonds. Angola has a rich history, and its people are known for their resilience and determination. Despite its many challenges, Angola is a beautiful and fascinating country worth exploring.


6. Niger

Niger is sixth the largest country in Africa, and it is also one of the poorest countries in the world. The country has over 17 million people, and it is home to a variety of different cultures and religions. Niger is also home to many other animals, including lions, elephants, and hippos.


5. Chad

Chad is the 5th largest. It is more than twice the size of France, and it is almost the size of Texas. Yet, despite its large size, Chad is one of the poorest countries in the world. More than half of the population lives in poverty, and many people do not have access to clean water or primary healthcare.


4. Libya

Libya is a country located in North Africa. It is the largest country in Africa and the 4th largest country in Africa. Libya has over 6 million people and a land area of 1.75 million square kilometres. The capital of Libya is Tripoli, and the official language is Arabic. Libya’s economy is based on oil and gas production.


3. Sudan

Sudan is the 3rd largest country in Africa. It is located in the northeast of the continent and has an area of 2,503,890 square kilometres. The population of Sudan is 41,114,859, and the capital city is Khartoum. Sudan is a Muslim-majority country, and Islam is the state religion.


2. Congo

Congo is the 2nd largest. Congo is a country that is located in Central Africa. It has over 78 million people and covers an area of 2,344,858 square kilometres. The Country is bordered by the Republic of Congo to the north, Uganda to the east, Rwanda to the southeast, Burundi to the south, and Zambia and Angola to the west.


1. Algeria

Algeria is the largest country in Africa. It is also the tenth-largest country globally, with a total area of 2,381,741 square kilometres. Morocco borders Algeria to the northwest, Tunisia to the northeast, Libya to the east, and Niger and Mali to the south. The country has a population of over 40 million people.



The Largest Countries In Africa

Rank CountriesCapital City Area in Square Miles
2Congo Kinshasa905,355
5Chad N'Djamena496,000

9South AfricaPretoria470,900
10EthiopiaAddis Ababa426,400